Skip to content

Recipe for college: art projects, games and field trips

November 23, 2009

Jasmine asked me a couple of weeks ago if I could help her write an essay for a high school application.  I told her to start working on it and that we’d get together to go over it.

We went to Jupiter Outpost, one of my new fave coffeehouses, yesterday.

I learned a new phrase, “Stop jockin’ me” which you’d say to someone who is all up in your business, someone who follows you around like a puppy dog.  I learned that Jasmine doesn’t like to drink hot beverages, even hot chocolate, because she likes to drink fast.  I learned that her grandmother, who adopted her as a baby because her mom was struggling with drugs, is sick and that she asked Jasmine, “What would you do if I die?” to which Jasmine responded with tears.  I learned that the house phone and Jasmine’s cell had been switched off because her sister decided to buy shoes instead of pay the phone bill.  I learned that “It’s not fair” that I can type fast and that it’s necessary to take a two-minute break after typing each paragraph.  I learned that grammar rules like putting two spaces after periods but only one after commas are “silly.”

Glancing down at the essay Jasmine wrote in response to “Who in your life has most influenced you to go to college?” I saw my name.  Oh no – my eyes start to fill.

There have been two people in my life that encouraged me to attend college.

My mother, who is really my grandmother, started taking care of me when my mother got sick.  She adopted me when I was a baby.  My friend Saya, we’ve known each other for a long time.  We met at Saturday school, where we did fun activities, went on lots of field trips, and had lots of good times there.  She was the coordinator of Saturday school.  Saya is a really nice lady and she has been for a very long time.

They both encouraged me to go to college.  They tell me that if I don’t go to college, that I won’t be able to get a good job and earn enough money to buy my own home.  I’ll go to college and I’ve always known that one day I will become a lawyer.  This is important to me because I want to help innocent people including my family and friends.

My real mother tells me that she wants me to get a degree because she doesn’t want me to be like her or my grandmother, neither of who even have a high school degree.  It’s important to my mom that I graduate from college, get a good job, and become someone in life.

My friend Saya told me that it’s essential to continue onto college because college can help you do things that you never thought you would ever be able to do.  Also, she said that a college degree is necessary to be hired for most jobs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

