Skip to content

It’s kind of hard to find passion while you sit alone on your couch

December 31, 2009

I would like to steal someone else’s thought I received via email today, a guy who works long enough to save up money, then travels to exotic locales for months on end – “Make this the year you design a LIFE rather than make a living!”

Amen.  Cliche, but have 2010 be the year you LIVE life.  Nothing irks me more than people who have the resources and time to do amazing things but choose to sit on the sidelines and do nothing.

Choose a drumming circle over a Seinfeld rerun.  Choose the boot camp classs you’ve been eyeing but have been too nervous to join over the same ol’ stationary bike routine.   Choose a book-club or guitar class or a volleyball team over Match.com.  Choose closing your eyes and doing whatever your finger falls on in the Reader instead of Netflix and Chinese take-out.

Have you ever said:

  • I don’t have enough money
  • I don’t have enough time
  • I’m too fat
  • I’m too old
  • I don’t have anyone to come with me
  • I won’t fit in
  • I’m not knowledgeable enough
  • I won’t know anyone
  • I haven’t had a date in ______
  • I’m not qualified to  _______
  • I’m scared

To that I say, just suck it up and join the class, take the trip, quit the job, participate in the group, ask her out, start the business, write the book…

And while you’re at it, go volunteer somewhere.  Volunteering always gives me perspective and slaps me back to reality when I start complaining about a chipped pedicure or my exorbitant heating bills – my problems really aren’t problems at all when compared to what others face.

2010 – the year of being proactive and being a person who I’d want to talk to at a party, not the person I want to run from because you have nothing to share!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

