Skip to content

A rental car full of sweaty Irishmen with small thighs and MacBooks

April 21, 2010

Apology to the girl on School Street yesterday, I didn’t mean to stare.  But all I could think was, “Wow, you could fit a rotisserie chicken between your thighs.”  What it must be like to not hear a whooshing sound when you walk due to skin-rubbage.

On NPR this AM – “Never in the history of the world has anyone ever washed a rental car.  People only care about what they own.”  I like that quote.

It defeats the purpose of the action when you first mop up the puddle of sweat and then use the same towel to “wipe down” the stairclimber.

A guy asked me to watch his baby [MacBook] at a coffeehouse while he went to the rest room.  Airport security warnings pinged around in my head, and “Oh god, I hope there’s not a bomb in it” was my immediate reaction.  I miss the days when I’d just look up and smile, feeling good that I had the look of someone trustworthy and enough muscle to fend off any would-be baby-stealers.

I’ve had deck-building Irishmen working outside my bedroom for the past week.  Much like I think pretty girls can and do use their looks to advance in the world, so it goes with British-accented men.  They could pop their head in my window and ask to use my toothbrush to spread their tar and I’d say yes.  Irish-brogue.  Mmmmmmmmmm.

I’m really happy.  I usually gripe and judge here.  So just wanted to write that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2012 5:47 AM

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of
    your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2
    pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

    • October 10, 2012 7:59 AM

      Thanks for reading!

      My posts just happen organically. Usually just stream of consciousness, and that’s the format that fits with my style and interests. There are lots of blogs out there that are image heavy, which are great!, so if that’s what you’re looking for, probably best to check those out. That’s not me at this point…

      Certainly hope to keep you as a reader though!

Leave a Reply

