Skip to content

Give all the angry people Dutch bikes

October 13, 2010

I have never had so much fun traveling to a meeting downtown, the bank, and the dentist.  I smiled at Republicans.  I whistled church hymns.   I winked at men attached to their iPhones and their football games.  I high-fived girls in skinny-jeans.  I hugged PC-users.  I saw my reflection and Halle Berry stared back.

If you want to inject giddiness, carefreeness, and love-for-all’ness into the mundane, the routine, the everyday, do yourself a favor — get a Dutch bike [also known as an upright or a cruiser].  I fell in love with them when I borrowed Uncle Dan’s in Denver and college-friend Erin’s in Amsterdam this summer.  But I already had a bike.  A Lady with Two Bikes?  Who am I?!?  Someone who lunches at Gibson’s, sips cosmos, and buys jewelery somewhere other than Kohl’s?  I resigned myself to being a wistful Lady with One Bike.

But then last Friday, I was hurriedly and weirdly shooed out to Boyfriend’s garage.  An early birthday present!  And our Amsterdam friends, in town for the weekend, verified it as authentic-Dutch.  Bliss.

New Dutchies are expensive.  Troll Craigslist [“criusers” appears to be the best keyword to search with]; there are a lot of seemingly good deals out there.  If you already have a bike, sell it.  Give it away.  Or become You with Two Bikes.  On a cruiser, you’re ten pounds lighter, your teeth are whiter, and everyone wants to be your friend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 3:46 PM

    wait a sec.. weren’t you at the last brunch?

    • January 16, 2011 5:17 PM

      Hey Samantha, thanks for the comments! Sounds like we have a lot in common; I’m 6′ ft and got my Dutch bike this Fall as well. They’re great, right?!?

      Hmm, wonder if I have a doppelganger. I wasn’t at the last brunch, though sounds like I would’ve like to be! Combining brunch/drinks and bikes and new people sounds wonderful. You’re the 2nd person to mention the group to me [if it’s the same group] this week, and I’m coffee’ing with the first in a few days, so hope to learn more. Maybe I’ll see you at the next outing!

  2. January 16, 2011 3:43 PM

    I came across your site and blog via Martha’s Bike Fancy blog – always good to find another fan of Dutch bikes here in Chicago ( Your comparison of Holland vs America is great reading too)! I’m a 6ft gal riding a Dutch bike here in the city – I bought my this fall. I’d been riding a mountain bike for years and now I’m very much in love with my upright, heavy-weight, smooth-riding, Omafiets. You should come to our Women-who-ride brunch or happy hour next month, with your bike of course!

Leave a Reply

